top of page

A‘ea‘e Honored In Two Categories at the 46th Annual Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awa

A‘ea‘e Honored In Two Categories at the 46th Annual Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awa

On July 1, 2023, at the 46th annual Nā Hōkū Awards, A‘ea‘e was honored with the Hawaiian EP of the Year Award and the prestigious Group of the Year Award! These categories are voted upon by the membership of the Hawai‘i Academy of Recording Arts, which is comprised of Hawai‘i music industry professionals.

Group members Jeff Dayton, Tarvin Makia, and Māpuana Makia were joined onstage by Gaylord Holomāliaa of Kalapana and Bruddah Iz’ (Israel Kamakawiwo‘ole) band on keyboards. Radasha Ho‘ohuli also joined them onstage and performed hula to a medley of songs from the group’s debut release. Group member Kenneth Makuakāne was unable to perform as church business required his presence on the continental U.S.

Makuakāne and Donaghy were also honored with the Anthology Album of the Year category for Makuakāne’s “Huliau” as the producers of the release.

The entire Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awards can be streamed online from HARA’s website. A‘ea‘e’s performance begins at 1:04:45, though there are many incredible performances to be seen and heard!


bottom of page